THE EASTER DEBACLE

Guess what kiddies??

It’s Easter!!!!

That’s right, a holiday solely dedicated to eating as much chocolate as you like, oh and Jesus of course. Putting that aside, being in a chocolate induced coma and giving birth to a food baby (the only downside of utilising the holiday get-out-of-jail free card to eat as much as you want) has the uncanny ability of lulling you into a sense of security, which as it happens, is the equivalent to a death sentence in my life. Lowering your guard means beginning to let things slip, little things like… I don’t know… with Easter comes family, and with family comes DISASTER!!!

Let me break it down for you. Wogs don’t do things like normal people (a statement deserving a blog post to itself in its own a right). Everything we do is magnified by our loud and sometimes overbearing personalities. This makes family get-togethers extremely volatile and almost always awkward, considering that there’s always someone who’s holding some kind of grudge or beef. Let’s not even touch base on the invasive and uncomfortably personal questions.

That being said there are upsides to being a part of a Southern/Central European household. Like the excessive amounts of food and hard liquor (Despite being excessive nothing ever seems to go to waste in this family. I’m not even joking, I’m sure that the other day I found a can of peaches that expired during the Second World War in my grandfather’s cupboard)

I want to hear how other people’s Easter holidays panned out like. Has it been relatively unremarkable or has it been as stressful as mine? Let me know in the comments below.

Before I forget, don’t forget to seize the holidays and Happy Easter!!! 🐰🐣

Leave a comment